Choral Music

Music for Soprano Solo and Orchestra – “Blue Hills Over the North Wall”

December 12th, 2012|

“Blue Hills Over the North Wall” is an excerpt from my 1996 piece Cycle of Friends for soprano, chorus and chamber orchestra, commissioned by the Music Group of Philadelphia, and premiered by them in conjunction with Orchestra 2001. I was in my twenties when I […]

Are Friends Delight or Pain for Double SATB Chorus A Cappella

November 22nd, 2012|

This setting of Emily Dickinson’s short poem is an excerpt from my 1996 piece Cycle of Friends for soprano solo, chorus and chamber orchestra.  This video perusal score features the premiere performance by the Music Group of Philadelphia, conducted by Seán Deibler […]

“Ducks in the Garden” for SATB Chorus

July 5th, 2012|

This off-beat little a cappella piece was written many, many years ago (1991, to be exact).  It is an earnest and faithful setting of a very silly poem by my friend Will T. Laughlin.  It happens to be very difficult to learn and perform, with a lot of meter […]

“Roll the Tide” for SATB Chorus

July 5th, 2012|

“Roll the Tide” is a short, a cappella quasi-spiritual excerpted from the larger work Waiting…, based on poems by Elisabeth T. Eliassen.

In the “video perusal score” above, you can follow the score as you hear its premiere performance by the 2011 Kodály Summer Institute Chorus at Holy Names University, conducted by […]

Upcoming Performances for Summer 2012

May 18th, 2012|

The San Francisco Choral Artists, conducted by Magen Solomon, will give the world premiere of my very short (and very, very silly) a cappella madrigal Ducks in the Garden, which was composed in 1991.

Poetry and Music: A Conversation With Poet Elisabeth T. Eliassen

January 26th, 2012|

What is so wonderful about for me about my poetic “thought music” is that while it can have specific meaning for me, it doesn’t have to have a specific meaning for anyone else.

— poet Elisabeth T. Eliassen

My new choral work Waiting… is […]

New Choral Work to be Premiered in February

January 9th, 2012|

The Sanford Dole Ensemble will give the premiere performance of my new choral work Waiting…, for chorus, string quartet and piano,  at the San Francisco Conservatory on February 4th at 8:00pm.

This “All New, All Local” program also includes new works by San Francisco composers David Conte and Peter […]

Scores Now Available for Purchase Online

August 11th, 2011|

My self-publishing empire Swirly Music has just launched an online store where certain pieces will be available for purchase.  At the moment only my clarinet/piano piece American Standard and a short choral work are available.  I will be adding my other choral pieces and my string quartet as soon as I can. […]

Project Encore: Choral Works Awaiting Second Performances

March 16th, 2010|

Last year the New York chorus Schola Cantorum on Hudson initiated their Project Encore initiative, an effort to promote second performances of choral works that have received premiere performances and nothing since.  It is a great and much needed idea: a juried central repository complete with instrumentation, text, program notes and even audio excerpts that choral decision makers can resort to for new works to consider. […]

  • Composer Joseph Castaldo
    Permalink Composer Joseph CastaldoGallery

    Joseph Castaldo’s “Ancient Liturgy” Revisited in Philadelphia

Joseph Castaldo’s “Ancient Liturgy” Revisited in Philadelphia

March 5th, 2010|

This month the Choral Arts Society of Philadelphia, my choral alma mater, will present a concert that epitomizes the kind of music making that went on in Philadelphia when I was a student there in the 1980′s. The occasion is the 20th anniversary of the premiere of Joseph Castaldo’s extraordinary work for narrator, chorus and orchestra Ancient Liturgy, which was originally commissioned and premiered by the Music Group of Philadelphia under Seán Deibler, who also happened to be Choral Arts’ founding Artistic Director. […]